LEC announces Best Practice winners for 2002-03

Wednesday, October 22, 2003

The following teachers are winners in the Best Practice Contest for the 2002-03 academic year. The contest is sponsored annually by the Pledge for Life Partnership to recognize Kindergarten through sixth grade teachers who develop projects and activities to reinforce the lessons taught in the Life Education Center curriculum. Monetary awards of $100, $50 and $25 are given for first, second and third place respectively.

Awards were presented at the annual Iroquois-Kankakee Life Education Center Advisory Board meeting October 22 at the Kankakee Country Club.

First Place: Nancy Mansberger of St. Anne Elementary School; Second Place: Vicki Fender of Taft Elementary School; Third Place: Cynthia Jakob of Taft Elementary, Cindy Orwig of Ashkum Elementary, Pam Porter of St. Joseph Catholic School; and Debra Roselius and Jacyln Couch of Ashkum Elementary.

First Grade
First Place: Kristine Pelletier of St. Anne Elementary; Second Place: Lisa Brown of Steuben Elementary; and Third Place: Kelly Vogel of Je-Neir Elementary in Momence.

Second Grade
First Place: Susan Hines of Lafayette Primary; Second Place: Mary Talbert of Gilman Elementary; and Third Place: Linda Ailey of Donovan Elementary, Kirstyn Bahr of Manteno Elementary, Joyce Dorsey of Crescent City, Kim Eggemeyer of Iroquois West Elementary, Marilyn Rademacher of Grant Park Elementary, and Donna Wine of Chebanse Elementary.

Third Grade
First Place: Cynthia Veronda of Kennedy Middle School; and Second Place: Kathie Both of Donovan Elementary.

Fourth Grade
First Place: Anne Ogdon of Limestone Grade School; Second Place: Maureen Antognoli of King Middle School; and Third Place: Nikki Nicholson of Donovan Elementary and Mary Ann Bicknell of Alan B. Shepard in Bourbonnais.

Fifth Grade
First Place: Barbara Kitz of the Lincoln Cultural Center in Kankakee.

Sixth Grade
First Place: Sharon Brough of John L. Nash Middle School in Chebanse; and Eugene Wachholz of St. Paulís Lutheran School.

Projects developed during the 2003-2004 academic year must be submitted by June 4, 2003. For more information, contact Brenda Wetzel, LEC coordinator, at 937-2950.

Pledge for Life Partnership

Back to News

A Pledge for Life Partnership Initiative
1 Stuart Drive
Kankakee, IL 60901